Employers in the Fund

There are three types of employing authority within the LGPS:

  • Scheduled Bodies: Local Authorities and similar bodies whose staff are automatically entitled to be members of the fund.

  • Designating Bodies: City, town and parish councils. They have the power to decide if their employees can join the LGPS and pass a resolution accordingly.

  • Admission Bodies: Other organisations that participate in the fund under an admission agreement between the fund and the relevant organisation. Admitted bodies include voluntary, charitable and similar bodies or private contractors undertaking a local authority function following outsourcing to the private sector.

The current employers participating in the Gwynedd Pension Fund are as follows:

Scheduled Bodies

Gwynedd Council 
Snowdonia National Park
Conwy County Borough Council 
Bryn Eilian School
Isle of Anglesey County Council 
Emrys Ap Iwan School
North Wales Police and Crime Commissioner 
Pen y Bryn School
Grwp Llandrillo Menai 
Eirias High School

Designating Bodies

Llanllyfni Community Council 
Ffestiniog Town Council
Bangor City Council 
Llandudno Town Council
Abergele Town Council 
Llangefni Town Council
Colwyn Bay Town Council 
Menai Bridge Town Council
Beaumaris Town Council 
Towyn and Kinmel Bay Town Council
Holyhead Town Council 
Tywyn Town Council
Caernarfon Town Council
Conwy Town Council
Trefriw Community Council 

Admission Bodies

Coleg Harlech WEA 
North Wales Society for the Blind
Conwy Voluntary Services
Conwy Citizens Advice Bureau 
Careers Wales North West
Ynys Mon Citizens Advice Bureau 
Mantell Gwynedd
Cwmni Cynnal 
Medrwn Mon
Cwmni’r Fran Wen 
Menter Mon
Holyhead Joint Burial Committee 
Cartrefi Conwy
Cartrefi Cymunedol Gwynedd 

Transferee Admission Body

Superclean Ltd
ABM Catering